I have been looking at flights to San Francisco for about a month. I knew when I needed to be there for staff training, but wouldn’t pick a date to leave. Now that I know more details about my trip assignment, I figured it was time to book that flight. I was extremely nervous when I found a flight that fit the dates and price range I wanted. I’ve flown lots of times, why was I so nervous to book this flight? I decided to get to San Francisco a few days before I need to be there for training. For one reason to make sure that all of my belongings arrived on time, and also so I can explore the city. I visited for a few days with my family when I was 12 as part of our big road trip. All I remember are trolley cars and Alcatraz. However, this time will be my first real “solo” trip, even if it is only for a few days before staff training. There will be no family members, friends, or even a volunteer group to greet me at the airport when I arrive.

In previous trips I have flown alone, which I have no problem with. This time I have to plan the itinerary of what I want to do, where I want to stay, and how to get around. I realize this is still the United States, so I’ve got the home field advantage. In some ways that makes me more nervous because then people may expect me to know everything already. I am excited and nervous and look forward to pushing myself out of my comfort zone. I finally went for it and bought the ticket – One way to San Francisco at the end of May!

If you have any suggestions of things to see or do in San Francisco, please let me know!


Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.