My roommate and I are both dedicated to our schoolwork. We prefer to stay in and watch a movie and relax than go out drinking and partying. One night we talked about walking to a nearby bar for margaritas. First we said, “Yeah! Let’s do it.” Then a few minutes later we were saying “I’m not so sure. Maybe we should just stay in.” The weather was getting bad and there was even a tornado watch. We decided to be spontaneous for a change and forced ourselves to get ready for our night out. It started downpouring as we were getting ready, but around the time we finished preparing, it stopped raining.

We walked down the street and sat at a little table near the bar. It was still early and it wasn’t too crowded in the bar/restaurant yet. We ordered food and drinks and soon enough some people came over to talk to us. A group of guys started telling us about their “pig picking” party the next day. It was clear they had been drinking for a while and their story didn’t make a whole lot of sense. They said they went to a petting zoo and killed two pigs by shooting them in the head. First off, I don’t think there’s a petting zoo around here. Secondly, I didn’t believe they shot the pigs in the head, but as it turns out, they had video proof of that on their phone! My roommate watched the video in horror, but I just said I don’t eat meat and I don’t want to see the video. After my roommate screamed in shock at the end of the video, the guys invited us to the pig picking. We politely, err not so politely, declined.

We tried telling them stories to make them think we were crazy, but it didn’t really get them to leave. Eventually they realized nothing was going to happen with us and they left. But if we hadn’t decided to go outside of our comfort zone a little, we wouldn’t have this bizarre story to tell. I felt pretty good after that and can’t wait to finish up school so I can let loose a little bit more often in the near future!

Have you ever experienced any strange stories from people you just met at a bar? I’d love to hear it!


Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.